English German
Quick Links

The opinions, comments and viewpoints expressed in articles are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the webmaster.

All press articles are still under copyright from the original source and provided for entertainment purposes and research only. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for your own purposes beyond the 'fair use' exception, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.

» Inception Tops With 5 Awards At 37th Annual Saturn Awards

by Michelle McCue, published on June 25, 2011

On a relaxing Southern California afternoon on Thursday, June 23rd, amidst the beautiful backdrop of the San Gabriel Mountains, The Castaway set the scene for the 37th Annual Saturn Awards. Welcoming back host, Jeff Ross (“The Roast Master General”), the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films proudly presented the awards to its winners and special award recipients.

The 37th Annual Saturn Award winners are:

The Dr. Donald A. Reed Award: Dean Devlin
The Visionary Award: Kevin Feige, President of Marvel Studios
The George Pal Memorial Award: Frank Darabont
The Life Career Award: Bert I. Gordon
The Life Career Award: Michel Biehn

Best Science Fiction Film: “Inception”
Best Fantasy Film: “Alice in Wonderland”
Best Horror/Thriller Film: “Let Me In”
Best Action/ Adventure Film: “Salt”

Best Actor: Jeff Bridges (“Tron: Legacy”)
Best Actress: Natalie Portman (“Black Swan”)
Best Supporting Actor: Andrew Garfield (“Never Let Me Go”)
Best Supporting Actress: Mila Kunis (“Black Swan”)
Best Performance by a Younger Actor: Chloë Grace Moretz (“Let Me In”)

Best Director: Christopher Nolan (“Inception”)
Best Writing: Christopher Nolan (Inception)

Best Music: Hans Zimmer (“Inception”)
Best Costume: Colleen Atwood (“Alice in Wonderland”)
Best Make-Up: Rick Baker, Dave Elsey (“The Wolfman”)
Best Production Design: Darren Gilford (“Tron: Legacy”)
Best Special Effects: Chris Corbould, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Peter Begg (“Inception”)

Best International Film: “Monsters”
Best Animated Film: “Toy Story 3”

Best Network Series: “Fringe”
Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series: “Breaking Bad”
Best Television Presentation: “The Walking Dead”

Best Actor in Television: Stephen Moyer (“True Blood”)
Best Actress in Television: Anna Torv (“Fringe”)
Best Supporting Actor in Television: John Noble (“Fringe”)
Best Supporting Actress in Television: Lucy Lawless (“Spartacus: Gods of the Arena”)
Best Guest Starring Role in Television: Joe Manganiello (“True Blood”)

Best DVD Release: “Never Sleep Again: The Elm Street Legacy”
Best DVD Special Edition: “Avatar” (Extended Collector’s Edition)
Best DVD Classic Film Release: “The Complete Metropolis”
Best DVD Movie Collection: “Alien Anthology”
Best DVD Television Release: “The Twilight Zone” (Season 1 & 2) (Blu-Ray)

Best Local Stage Production, Musical: “Young Frankenstein” (Pantages Theatre)
Best Local Stage Production, Drama/Comedy: “The Lieutenant of Inishmore” (Mark Taper Forum)
Best Local Stage Production, Small Theatre: “Watson” (Sacred Fools Theatre)

The Academy was founded in 1972 by noted film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed to honor and recognize genre entertainment. Over the years, the Academy has expanded their reach to include other film genres. The organization also recognizes excellence in television and home entertainment. Robert Holguin presently serves as President of the 39 year old organization.

Source: wearemoviegeeks.com

Printerfriendly version · Read 3866 times

Last Update: 02/20/2020 Twitter  Facebook  YouTube  Instagram  Tumblr  Privacy Policy GDPR  HiStats  Facebook Group Ellen Page Fans © 2006-2020 TeamEPO
news ellenpage career media interact site web fancorner profile biography quotes factsandtrivia faqs filmography demoreel awards charity otherprojects gallery videoclips audioclips messageboard fanarts fanlisting guestbook links listedat affiliates aboutepo changelog contact epofaqs legalnotice